Coopers Rock State Forest

Wow hard to believe it is already Sunday again.  This past week has been a whirlwind of activity.  I am officially working from home but due to the new contract and training new staff, I have worked on average 12-13 hours a day.  Which I do not mind too much as I am working from home and I do not have to leave the office to go let the dog out and feed her and then head back.  I don’t have to deal with traffic on the roads, and I can get up dress casually (shorts and t-shirt) and get to work.  Which means that I am getting to sleep an extra hour in the morning.  LOL.  Well, enough about that let’s get on to today’s subject of Coopers Rock State Forest.

The first time I had heard about this State Forest was when I moved to Morgantown to attend WVU.  Since then I have visited the State Forest at least once a year, as my friends and I always try to have a picnic.  My favorite time of year to visit is the fall, as you probably already know by now Fall is one of my most favorite times of the year to take pictures.  The trees of the West Virginia mountains become the flowers of our views as the trees are displaying their vivid colors of oranges, yellows, and reds.

The original structures of the State Forest were built during the Great Depression, between 1936-1942 by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC).  Most of the structures were built using wood from the American Chestnut trees which have nearly been wiped out due to a blight.  There are 11 structures in the State Forest that have been placed on the National Register of Historic Places.  Coopers Rock State Forest consists of 12,713 acres which are bisected by I-68.  The forest serves mainly as a recreation and preservation area but is used for other uses such as forest research, timber management, and watershed and wildlife protection.

The park gets its name from the main over look which is a rock cliff that provides a panorama of the Cheat River Gorge.  There are other bands of rock cliffs that line the Gorge and provide numerous overlooks.  There is a maze of enormous boulders and cliffs and trails that fascinate hikers.

The State Features nearly 50 miles of trails, picnic pavilions, picnic area with picnic tables and charcoal grills, a play ground area, a 6-acre pond, and a camping area.  The campground is open from April 1 – October 31 and features 25 sites with electric hookup a shower house and Wi-Fi access for registered campsites.

From December 31 through March 31st the park is closed to vehicular traffic but is open to bike, snowshoeing, and foot traffic during this time frame.

 

2 thoughts on “Coopers Rock State Forest”

Leave a Reply

