2017 Craft Fair Season

Well, it is that time of year again.  Next Saturday is the first Craft Fair that I am attending this year.  It is at the local YWCA in the Fairmont, WV area.  My Mom and I will both have tables at this event.  So the prepping for the show has begun.

Last week I ordered some prints from a new print service that I have never used before.  It was a small order 26 images with a copy in a 4×6, 5×7, 8×10, and 11×14 just to see how they turn out.  I will say I am impressed especially by the low cost to buy them.  I ordered them this past Wednesday night and I the order was on my doorstep on Saturday.  They charge a flat rate shipping no matter what the order is of $8.95.

Thursday night I found myself on Amazon.  One of the worse places for me to shop as I want to buy everything.  LOL.  This year I am not only selling the 8×10 and 11×14 prints but I am trying out the 4×6 and 5×7 prints matted as well.  So before I have always stuck with white mats.  This time I bought a multicolored set.  Which when putting the images in them makes them pop a little bit more.  The bigger ones I will stick with white.  Those also got delivered on Saturday.

 

Then Thursday night I ended up buy a Square Bluetooth Card reader.  I haven’t had that many people ask me if I take cards before but who knows how many people didn’t buy anything without asking.  So now I can take Cards with or without the Chips, along with Apple Pay and Android Pay.  This should open me up to more purchases.  As we live in a world where people do not carry cash, and at shows, people tend to run out of their cash faster so if they still want to make a purchase they still can with me.

Seems like with every show my list of stuff to brings keeps growing, as right now it is a learning phase for me.  I am trying to find stuff that sells, and then narrow my inventory down.  So with this being said, I am off to mat some more photos.  I hope you all had a great week

4 thoughts on “2017 Craft Fair Season”

    1. Well for printing I use Sharp Prints there is a flat fee of 8.95 for shipping not matter how much you order. I found this site while going through some forums. The one set of portraits that I took for a friend I recommend she order from Sharp Prints. She was not disappointed in the quality. There have been a couple of photos here and there that did not come out as I expected but the next time I tried ordering them they came out fine. Typically they have been the smaller prints. So I am not sure if it is the size of the print or just a printing issue that day. I used to use National Photo Labs but wanting to keep my prices down for my buyers I switched. For matting I order through Amazon. I haven’t come across any sites that I found were any cheaper. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.

      For Frames I search online. I ran across a site Craig Frames and noticed they had a clearance page. They had 5×7 wood frames in sets of 4 for 4.99. They were originally 16.99. I bought all they had all 132 frames. Once I get a few days of time together I am going to re-stain some of them so that my customers have some choices when it comes to picking out their frames. I tried doing things like this all the time. The money I save I pass on to my customers. When reading articles and forums on pricing and seeing people say that I should charge 150.00 – 175.00 for certain sizes I can’t see me doing that. The area that I am in the majority of the people who can afford them now would not be able to at those prices. I still make a bit of profit off from them so I am happy with keeping the prices lower.

      Like

Leave a Reply

