Why Photography?

So, a lot of people probably wonder why some choose to do photography.  They do not see the fun or enjoyment in it.  To most it is mundane and they only take photos to capture the one moment.  Other people could care less if they took photographs but love looking at them from others.    I guess there are many reasons for some it is for an income, hobby, and art.  Some people may fall in between different reasons.

My reason for photography is a mix in between hobby and art.  I love just going out and taking pictures.  Some I keep others I delete.  To me, it is a good stress relief.  I am focused on something else and not on my worries and fears.  I am looking for the best shot or shots of the day, something unique, something I can tell a story about.  There is nothing better than going out with friends, family, or by yourself and finding new things.  Taking the photographs of my trips helps me remember the good times, especially when times may be hard.  Looking a photo from my past helps bring a smile to my face.    Getting out and just walking, talking, and enjoying myself is great.  But when I see something I want to take a picture of I get this rush.  I guess you may be able to compare it to when someone finds a great deal at the store.  Except this one is way cheaper.  At that time, I am focused on capturing it at the right angle, lighting, and speed.  Sometimes even trying out new ways of capturing the image.  Things I have read about online.  I have recently been working on my Waterfall Shots.  I take a shot with a high shutter speed, and then one with a slower shutter speed.  The slower speed smooths the water where the high speed you can see a lot of the individual water drops.  I find myself reading blogs from other photographers who offer suggestions for new ways to take photos.  Some are harder than others but you find it challenging and when you can reproduce it you feel like you won the lottery.

As mentioned in the previous post I have started selling my photos at Craft and Art Shows in my local area.  The best part of the event for me is getting to talk to someone and tell them where the photo was taken and the story behind the photo.  Seeing them connect with the photo even if they don’t take it makes me feel good.  I do find it funny that I remember taking each photo and something about that day.  You would think after taking thousands of photographs since 2007 that would not be the case.  Guess that brings a whole new meaning to a photographic memory.

Today, we do not get to interact with each other so much.  We have online interactions but not person to person.  I have had 15-30 minute conversations with one person at my table.  Me telling them about each photo they have questions about and them telling me stories about their past or where they like to go to take pictures.   That connection the person makes with your photo is like a connect a person makes with a painting.  But they are also making a connect with me too.  I may never see them again, but it will be a memory that both of us have.

So, what are your reasons for photography?

Leave a Reply

